Group seeks Nonpartisan League moniker


Members of the North Dakota Nonpartisan League elected an interim executive committee at a meeting in Dickinson held Saturday.

 The group adopted and signed a letter requesting that Lloyd Omdahl, former lieutenant governor of North Dakota, transfer the name of the NPL to the interim executive committee. Omdahl has served as secretary of the NPL since 1968.

The NPL was formed in 1915 and channeled the rugged prairie populism of North Dakota into action to protect and fight for the interests of farmers, laborers and rural communities.

Historic achievements by the Nonpartisan League include securing women in North Dakota the right to vote in presidential elections — before the passage of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution, enacting a state hail insurance program, increasing funding to rural schools, creation of the extremely profitable state-owned North Dakota Mill and Elevator and the State Bank of North Dakota, which remains the only state-owned bank in the United States.